Copper coffee pot
My copper “dzhezve”. Handmade many years ago.

If we were having coffee I’d invite you into my small library and I’d make you a Turkish coffee. I have just the right pot for it. It is handmade from copper. It has been in my family for generations. I don’t usually drink Turkish coffee. It requires time and it is very strong. I am a Starbucks pure coffee person. No toppings, no additional flavors, no cream thank you very much. Sometimes though, I am in a mood for a Turkish coffee. Today is such a day. This coffee is slowly sipped and is meant for long conversations. These handmade pots are not produced anymore in my home country. Today, they are mass produced in factories to lure tourists. I miss the small craftsmen shops from my childhood. They used to make exquisite pots.

The pot is always for one person. It will take some time to make all the coffee. Meanwhile, feel free to look around, to relax, and to talk to each other.

When all the coffees are ready and you have some sweet snack to go along, I would show you my sanctuary:

Books
View of my small library.

To your left is a part of our collection of books on nuclear physics and LaTeX. The rest are in our bedroom. I can almost see your frown – LaTeX??? Well, we, physicists publish papers and theses also. All of these are written in LaTeX. So, next time you need someone to make your new book look awesomely professional – call the curious scientist 🙂 And in front of you is the door, behind which Chaos lurks ( read: my daughter’s room ), and to the right is my small bookshelf.

 

Please, don’t mind the disorder on the top. It didn’t use to be like that. My daughter , though, seems to spread her possessions outside of her room. So, when I want to read or to collect my thoughts, I sit on the sofa to your right. I look through the window. Or stare at the rainy drops on it. This library is a small piece of my larger collection of books. The larger collection is spread over several countries. The biggest piece is back home in my home country. There I have a whole room full of books from floor to ceiling. I want to transport these books but neither  a single cargo company is willing to do that, nor I have the room for them ( we still live in a rented apartment ). The other part is in Sweden facing the same transportation problems.

Let’s take a closer look at my books:

IMG_2950

This is my shelf of fame. These are the books that are never, ever,left behind. They always travel in my personal luggage when I move from one country to another. The two volumes at the left hand side read “L. N. Tolstoy“. This is his  ” War and Peace“.

IMG_2953

Some more books. From left to right: Books by Haruki Murakami, Mishima Yukio, Nikos Kasandsakis, Jorge Amado and my favorite Paulo Coelho.

Some of my mystery, action, thriller books. And some travel guides. Don’t mind the other books. I am running out of space. Each shelf has two or three rows of books in depth.

 

 

And this is my Art shelf:

IMG_2955
The Art shelf

The last shelves are those where my daughter build her own collection of books:

IMG_2956

If you liked the coffee, you can find the recipe here.

20 thoughts on “In a Mood for Turkish Coffee

  1. I tried Turkish coffee for the first time yesterday — there is a new cafe where I live that is serving it. I was quite impressed. I will definitely have it again.

  2. I think I may like Turkish coffee. I too am a straight, no frills Starbucks coffee person. I always joke that I am the person you want in line ahead of you because two pumps of the thermos and I’m out of there! No fancy blending and mixing involved.
    I am in love with your book shelves! How wonderful to have a library of your own. My books are housed on shelves in our living room (and tucked away in various other places around the house) but I would very much like to have a whole room filled with books. If I were browsing through your books, I would find many of my favorites…”Cider House Rules,” “The Shining,” “and “East of Eden” to name a few. I would also like to flip through the book on Edward Hopper. His paintings are so fascinating. Thanks so much for the visit!

  3. I myself don’t drink coffee, being a black tea with sugar and milk sort of person. But my Bulgarian husband prepares himself a cup of турско кафе in his джезве every morning. Perhaps not coincidentally, the golden age of the Ottoman Empire occurred just as stimulating coffee had become an empire-wide phenomenon. By the 17th century, famed Ottoman travel writer Evliya Çelebi could describe coffeehouses that served up to 1000 patrons. Starbucks has nothing on that sort of success.

    1. Thank you for reading my post. Yes, Turkish coffee became popular thanks to the Ottoman Empire…until you meet my friends from various countries such as Armenia and Greece. Each has their own explanation about the Armenian or Greek ( read Turkish for Bulgarians ) coffee spreading all over the world.

  4. It was fun reading about your many books and your coffee. I like the recipe for your Turkish coffee; unfortunately, because I like a “little coffee with my sweetened cream,” I am afraid mine might not taste like yours. 😉 Enjoyed our coffee chat and I suppose I will “drop by” next week via coffee share. 🙂

  5. Hello. Such a pleasure to meet you. I live just North of Sydney in Australia but my daughter’s friend has Bulgarian parents. Noticed your stash of Hemingway’s novels. I loved “The Old Man & The Sea”. We live near the beach and so it really resonates with me. I just wrote a series of Letters to dead Poets for the A-Z Challenge and included Hemingway: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/04/10/h-hemingwaya-surprise-letter-atozchallenge/ There is also a follow-up: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/04/10/h-q-a-with-hemingway-atozchallenge/
    I hope to read more of his novels, although I’m currently having a Roald Dahl fest. His bio is riveting.
    Hope you are having a great week.
    xx Rowena

    1. Hello Rowena. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am a big fan of Hemingway. What you saw is just the part that I am capable of fitting in my carry -on luggage. The rest is still spread around the world. My favorite novel is “For Whom the Bell Tolls”. I also admire Hemingway’s short stories. His language is exquisite.
      I will definitely stop by your blog to read the letters.

      1. I will try to read that soon. I really want to follow up on Hemingway. I totally agree with you about his use of language. Must read more xx Rowena

  6. This is the first I’ve heard of Turkish coffee! I wish I could try it but I’m not sure where I can get it in my country. 🙂 It makes me happy coming across a bookworm. I also love to read and even if I grew to have other hobbies, there’s nothing so calming as much as reading (especially an actual book rather than e-books). 🙂

Leave a Reply

