I sit across My Disappointment in my living room. I offer him/her/it my favorite bourbon. The Disappointment wants whiskey, though. He/she/it is a creature that likes to annoy me. I explain that, as it turns out, I am a bourbon person. My Disappointment asks : “Would you like me to disappoint you?”. I say : ” No, please, not today.” I say that today is the first day of many, when the sun finally won the battle with the clouds. It rarely shines in the parts I live in. Today the sky is blue, the trees are all in bloom. I want to enjoy the nice weather. The creature asks: “Would you like me to disappoint you?”.

Then, My Disappointment asks what did I do yesterday. I say I started reading a new book. I explain that the book’s beginning looks interesting enough to make me continue reading. He/she/it asks: “Would you like me to disappoint you?”.

I leave that topic. Today, I do not want to be disappointed. I say I met some new people and I hope someone of them may become a friend. My Disappointment asks: “Would you like me to disappoint you?”.

So, apparently this topic is closed too. The sly creature asks then in a nice voice with a hint of a smirk: “What is your daughter doing today?”. My Disappointment knows me very well. I am often disappointed by her. I answer that today she behaves unusually well. Right now she is playing by herself in her room and the house is neat and quiet. The Disappointment asks: “Would you like me to disappoint you?”.

No, I do not want to. I feel it is time to stop this meeting. The bourbon taste is getting mixed with a slight hint of annoyance. I say :”Today you cannot disappoint me. I have my shield up. I am sure the day will be gorgeous and it will not bring any disappointment with it.”

My Disappointment asks: “Would you like me to disappoint you?”.

 
Disappointment

One thought on “My Disappointment

Leave a Reply

